MIPS Board

The MIPS Board meet regularly to govern MIPS operations and examine current clinico-legal issues facing our members.


Mr. Gary Speck - AM MBBS BMedSc(Hons) FRACS FAOrthA FAMA GAICD

Gary obtained his qualification as an orthopaedic surgeon, FRACS (Orth) in 1983 and has specialised his practice to treatment of spinal disorders. He is an active member of the Spine Society of Australia, Australian Orthopaedic Association, North American Spine Society and Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS). He is a director of MIPS Insurance, a director and past vice-president of AMA and past director and past vice-president of AMA Victoria, chairing its TAC Worksafe Committee and the Joint LIV-Bar Council-AMA Committee. He was a member of the Health Innovation and Reform Council (of the Government of Victoria, advising the Health Minister) and Chairman of its Standing Committee on Health Quality, Safety and Outcomes from 2012 to 2015, and continues advisory roles to government. In 2014 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medicine as an orthopaedic surgeon, and to professional organisations.



Bruce graduated BDSc from the University of Melbourne in 1973, and entered private practice for six years. Since gaining his MDSc in 1981, he practised as a specialist orthodontist in private practice in Melbourne. ln 2017 he ceased his 40 year association with the University of Melbourne as a part-time senior lecturer and consultant. He is a past president and life member of the Australian Dental Association (Vic). Bruce was a director of the Australian Dental Council for 10 years and is past chairman of the Policy Advisory Committee of the Professional Provident Fund. Based in Melbourne, he is a Director of Victorian Medical Insurance Agency Ltd.

Sue Carter

Ms. Sue Carter - BA(Hons), Grad Dip (App Fin & Invest), MAppSci, ACA (UK), FAICD

Sue is a professional non-executive director and a consultant in corporate governance and board effectiveness.  She is an Australian Institute of Company Directors Facilitator in directors’ duties, financial reporting, decision making and board processes. She qualified as a Chartered Accountant with KPMG in the UK and holds a BA(Hons) in Economics and History together with a Master of Applied Science in Organisation Dynamics. She is a past ASIC Regional Commissioner for Victoria and a past director of the Professional Indemnity Insurance Company Australia. Sue is currently a non-executive director of ANZ Australian Staff Superannuation and Chairman of Protect Services..

Anthony Mason

Mr Anthony Mason - BSocSC, FIA, Hon FFFLM

For 27 years Tony was a consulting actuary with the partnership Lane Clark and Peacock (LCP), the largest independent actuarial consultancy in the UK. Between 1996 and 2007 he was LCP's managing director. Since 1983 he has specialised in the area of medical negligence and his clients included the worldwide operations of Medical Protection Society (MPS) and the NHS Litigation Authority in England, plus many other governments and international insurers. From the mid 1980s he was heavily involved in advising medical defence organisations in Australia and in 1988 became the consulting actuary to MIPS until he left LCP to become the CEO of MPS in 2007. Since retiring from MPS, he now does part-time international consultancy for Medical Protective in the USA and he became a non-executive director of MIPS Insurance in 2012. In 2011 he was made an Honorary Fellow of the Faculty of Forensic & Legal Medicine.


Merran H Kelsall - B. Com. (Hons.), FCPA, FCA, MBA, FAICD, FFin

Merran is an experienced, independent non-executive director and chair with expertise in finance, audit, risk, and compliance. She has a strong focus on corporate governance including financial and non-financial external reporting to include strategy and risk management and aligning performance management with strategy. Merran has worked with numerous types of organisations, including member based and those delivering public interest outcomes. She previously spent over 20 years in public practice. Her industry experience includes financial and professional services; insurance; superannuation; health; education; contract management, utilities and major infrastructure projects, including the water industry. Merran is a former Chairman and CEO of the Australian Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (AUASB) and Member of the International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board (IAASB).

Appointment of directors

The MIPS Board is comprised of seven non-executive directors.

The board includes experienced medical and dental professionals who also possess various other insurance, business and governance qualifications, skills and experience. The other directors bring specialist business, accounting and governance skills and experience to the Board.

MIPS Board vacancies, when they occur, initiate an assessment of the current skills and experience of the remaining MIPS Board Directors to identify any potential gaps in or anticipated needs for skills and experience that a replacement director should have to compliment the MIPS Board.

There is an expectation that any candidates wishing to be considered for appointment will have  skills and experience in addition to their professional qualifications. These might include completion of the AICD Company Directors course together with governance experience gained through involvement as a director or member of another company or perhaps a professional organisation. 

Potential replacement directors can be identified by many processes including executive search, professional institute (AICD) advertising and personal referral from members of the Board or members of MIPS to MIPS Company Secretary.

Once identified, the candidates for director appointment undergo an interview/s assessment process to determine the most suitable.  The successful candidate is then recommended for appointment by the MIPS Board.

The MIPS Board members are appointed by the Board of MIPS Holdings (MIPSH), which owns 100% of the issued ordinary shares of MIPS.  As a shareholder, MIPSH is not entitled to a dividend or any surplus assets (except for the return of capital) in the event of a winding up.

MIPS Insurance (MIPSi) is a wholly owned subsidiary of MIPS and has a board appointed by the MIPS Board. The MIPSi Board consists of seven members and the vacancies and skills and experience assessment of the MIPSi Board are managed in the same way as that of the MIPS Board.